May 30, 2017-CHOOSE to LOOK UP

What an amazing week! We were graced with the presence of Elder Bennett, a leader in the church who was sent by our prophet, Thomas S. Monson, to come train us as to how we can better represent Jesus Christ as his missionaries. At one point Elder Bennett had another missionary go up to the front of the room with him and Elder Bennett wanted to practice “street contacting”. The missionary who was to pretend to be a random person on the street while Elder Bennett acted as the missionary started by just acting as himself not catching on that he was suppose to pretend to be someone else, but Elder Bennett stopped him and said,”No dont be yourself, i want you to pretend you are the scariest person you have met on your mission.” As he said those words they resonated in my mind and I pondered the statement over and over again thinking about who the scariest person was that i actually had ever met. As I sat there in deep thought I pictured myself in that other missionaries place and imagine responding,”Elder Bennett you dont understand, I (as in me, myself) am the scariest person I have ever met.” That event caused me to be rather emotional for some reason… It is true though, there is no one in all of the universe that I am more scared of than myself, because I am the only one that can destroy me. 

 
We are all agents for ourselves and NO ONE can “make us” do anything. Your attitude is yours and you will feel however you choose to feel. If someone was to walk up to you and cut off your very hand, if you got mad at them it would be your fault. Often times I find myself trying to shift blame to anything but myself, but in Gods church the words, ” so and so made me do it” or “that makes me so mad” does not exist. It is all a decision.

 
As humans we tend to deflect blame and responsibility to everyone but ourselves. When things go right we turn inward and look at our self and how successful we are, but when things go wrong we turn outward and blame everyone else. In reality we need to be doing the opposite. When we find success and everything seems to be going right we must look outward and we need to (more specifically) look up. And when things go wrong we need to turn inward, we need to evaluate our own person and see what we need to change in ourselves. 
Love you all and hope you choose to have a great week!
Elder Wade

 

nathan may 30 2017 7nathan may 30 2017 6nathan may 30 2017 5nathan may 30 2017 4nathan may 30 2017 3nathan may 30 2017 2nathan may 30 2017 1

Leave a Reply

